Cicadas Everywhere

13 08 2006

I’ve seen and heard more Cicadas this year than in a long time. (Originally I said Locusts, which after a bit of researching, was incorrect. They are actually Tibicin.) Their shells are everywhere, all over the tree in our yard. This morning I was out with the kids and saw several hatching out of their shells and I watched for a few before getting my camera. It’s both digusting and amazing to watch these bugs emerge, their new wings still rolled up, and fly away once they’ve managed to get free. I took a few pictures:

Locust Emerging from Shell

Tibicin with Wings Spreading Out

Click on the photos for larger images….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

