HP Download Manager vs. WebJet Admin

13 01 2006

I have had the unpleasant task of installing WebJet Admin on my PC to upgrade firmware on our network printers several times. WebJet Admin seems to bog my PC down and uses tons of RAM, so I always uninstall it after I’m done. I downloaded HP Download Manager today on a buddy’s suggestion and it does auto discovery/ firmware updates without the JAVA based app and the overhead that comes along with WJA. It’s really nice and quick. Now I can leave it on my machine and have one more useful tool and one less headache to deal with!

Now if only Dell had a better printer management app! They use re-branded Lexmark printers so Markvision works, but Markvision is not near as nice as this for updating firmware on the NICs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

